My Current Thoughts On Art

I am 22 years old, and I have been painting for 2 years. Because of this a lot of people try to tell me what I should be doing with my art. So here are my thoughts at the moment…

Art is about self expression. There is no right or wrong. Skills mean nothing to me. I will develop my own techniques, and my art will grow from my own experiences and experimentations. I see no use in art school. It has nothing to offer me other than examples of what I don’t want to be. I wish I could unlearn what schooling has taught me of art so I could free myself from the ideas of what art should be that have been ingrained into my mind. If I create a mountain by making a triangle it is no better or worse than someone who painted a photo realistic mountain. I want my art to have a deeper meaning behind it. An emotional journey. Or maybe I want my art to say, “i have nothing to say right now, so here is a painting of my cat because my cat was sitting next to me while i was painting trying to get me to pet him”. A piece for me is finished when the thoughts involved are settled, not when it feels like someone else will like it.
like or dislike my work, show my work or don’t, criticize me or compliment me. I will keep doing what I am doing, and I will continue to be happy.

 

here is a progress shot of a piece I am currently working on..

 

